h1

Caramel Apples

October 9, 2006

fall01.jpg
Well it seems I am not unique when it comes to my love of all things fall! For so many reasons it is my favorite season, one being that it’s such a welcome relief to a Riverside summer, but it’s the feeling you get from just being outside–the smell, the wind, the sound of the leaves scraping the sidewalks. Fuzzy sweaters, boots, and kids in hats…it’s all so good.

fall02.jpg

Not having many family traditions, I’m working on creating some of my own. Caramel apples are a sure sign of fall, and to me, making them is just as much fun as coloring eggs at Easter. That being said, I am going to start a new tradition for my family–this means you and yours–by kicking off the season with a Caramel Apple making party.

I like the idea of having it around the same time every year–say the third Saturday in October? This of course means the first one would fall on October 21st. It would be (apparently my favorite way to host events) Open House style, meaning you could come for as little or as long as you like, between the hours of say…3 and 6? This allows you most of the day to enjoy the fall weather, come play with me, and still be able to have dinner with your most loved ones.

So there you have it. I will be supplying the apples, caramel, sticks and wrappings, etc, you feel free to bring your favorite “toppings” to coat your treats and share with others. Some suggestions would be:

fall03.jpgChopped nuts (almonds, peanuts, etc)
Sprinkles
Mini M&Ms
Mini chocolate chips
Mini Marshmallows
Candy Corn
Cookie/Graham cracker crumbs
…and/or whatever else you can think of!
As we get closer to the date, I would appreciate knowing if you can make it, so that I can be sure to have enough apples and supplies. And that’s it!

4 comments

  1. sign me up, but remind me as well. My brains have appearently blown away with the fall wind.


  2. This is in response to a comment you left on Ron McCoy’s blog– Julie already has a blog! šŸ™‚


  3. that sounds like so much fun. wish i could be there, maybe next year. i’ll be enjoying the fall colors of the good ol’ south, the atl. i’m on vacation starting monday.
    you should see the view from my sisters window its amazing. i’ll take lots of pictures.
    love you girl.


  4. Ok so we are coming.I thought I RSVP posted awhile ago I’m a loser.



Leave a Reply

